MUDCRUTCH Announce New Album “2” Out May 20th

Friday, March 25th, 2016

Mudcrutch announced their second album entitled “2” will be released by Reprise Records on May 20th. The album is the follow up to the band’s 2008 eponymous debut which Rolling Stone called “a country-rock instant classic” in a rave four star review. The new album, produced by band members Tom Petty and Mike Campbell with Ryan Ulyate, is available now for pre-order on Fans who pre-order the digital format of the album, or the vinyl format on the band’s official website, will receive downloads of three tracks, including the first single “Trailer,” in advance of the May 20th album release date.

Mudcrutch has also announced their first national tour, starting at Denver’s Ogden Theater on May 26th. Tickets for all headline shows go on-sale Friday, April 1st (10am local venue time) and every online ticket purchased for the headline tour includes a CD copy of the new album, “2.”

Los Angeles-based rock band The Shelters, who will release their debut album on Warner Bros. Records this summer, will support all tour dates.

Mudcrutch was initially formed in 1970 in Gainesville, Florida and is the precursor to the legendary Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers. Tom Petty (bass/vocals), Tom Leadon (guitar/vocals), Benmont Tench (keyboards/vocals), Mike Campbell (guitar/vocals), and Randall Marsh (drums/vocals) make up the band’s current line up. In 1974, Mudcrutch was signed to Shelter Records and moved to Los Angeles where they released one single, “Depot Street,” to very little fanfare. The band broke up in 1975 and could have settled for being a legend, but instead Mudcrutch rose from the ashes in 2008 to remind us that the golden age of rock and roll bands still had a few treasures to unearth. Their debut, made some thirty-three years later, was an unexpected hit.

All members of Mudcrutch contribute songs on their new album “2.” The album includes seven originals written by Tom Petty, with band members Mike Campbell, Tom Leadon, Randall Marsh and Benmont Tench composing one each.

In celebration of Record Store Day, the first single “Trailer”, written by Petty, with b-side “Beautiful World,” written by Randall Marsh, will be released at participating indie record stores as a limited edition vinyl 7 inch on April 16th.

2” Album Tracklist

  • Trailer
  • Dreams of Flying
  • Beautiful Blue
  • Beautiful World
  • I Forgive It All
  • The Other Side Of The Mountain
  • Hope
  • Welcome To Hell
  • Save Your Water
  • Victim of Circumstance
  • Hungry No More

Mudcrutch 2016 Tour Dates
26 @ Ogden Theatre, Denver, CO
29 @ Summer Camp Festival*, Chillicothe, IL
31 @ Ryman Auditorium, Nashville, TN

2 @ Tabernacle, Atlanta, GA
3 @ Bunbury Music Festival*, Cincinnati, OH
6 @ 9:30 Club, Washington, DC
7 @ The Fillmore, Philadelphia, PA
10 @ Webster Hall, New York, NY
11 @ Webster Hall, New York, NY
14 @ Capitol Theatre, Port Chester, NY
15 @ House of Blues, Boston, MA
19 @ The Fillmore, San Francisco, CA
20 @ The Fillmore, San Francisco, CA
25 @ The Fonda Theatre, Los Angeles, CA
26 @ The Fonda Theatre, Los Angeles, CA
28 @ The Observatory, Santa Ana, CA
* Tickets purchased for the festivals do not include CD of “2”


For more information on Mudcrutch, plus details of their new album “2” and upcoming U.S. tour, please visit