CHRIS SHIFLET & THE DEAD PEASANTS: ‘All Hat and No Cattle’ Out 7/30/13 via SideOneDummy

Chris Shiflett & The Dead Peasants will release All Hat and No Cattle, an album of classic honky-tonk covers and one original, on July 30th, 2013 via SideOneDummy Records. The album will be available as a 10-song LP, CD and digital release via all major retailers.

All Hat and No Cattle follows the group’s 2010 self-titled debut, which introduced the veteran Foo Fighter Shiflett’s skill for writing understated, infectious Americana-influenced rock songs. Firm believers that in order to know where you’re going, you’ve got to know where you’ve been, Chris Shiflett & The Dead Peasants recorded these ten definitive songs with a mix of reverence and revelry. Their playful enthusiasm is palpable throughout the faithful yet fresh interpretations, from the carousing opener “Guitar Pickin’ Man” to the bluesier, doo-wop country of “Happy Part Of Town” to the apt, barnstorming closer “Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way?”.

Shiflett was inspired with the idea to learn an abundance of old school honky-tonk songs, and then hit the road as a cover band, while touring with Foo Fighters around their last album. After arriving back home, the Dead Peasants reconvened and spent months rehearsing before playing shows all through spring and summer 2012. Wanting to capture the spirit of these performances, the band headed into Studio 606 in Los Angeles to track a selection of Shiflett’s favorites from their live set. The band recorded All Hat and No Cattle live and all together in one room, with only vocals overdubbed. A full track listing is below.

Together with Shiflett on vocals and guitar, The Dead Peasants are Jeff Gross (bass) and Luke Tierney (guitar) – three longtime friends who grew up in Santa Barbara playing in bands together – as well as Mitch Marine (drums), Marty Rifkin (pedal steel), and Derek Silverman (keyboards).

Chris Shiflett & The Dead Peasants will take these songs back on the road for more shows this summer, having recently performed at the Stagecoach Festival in Indio, CA and at SXSW in Austin, TX. More dates will be announced soon.

All Hat and No Cattle track listing:

  1. Guitar Pickin’ Man (Don Rich and the Buckaroos)
  2. Good Time Charlie’s (Del Reeves)
  3. Pop A Top (Jim Ed Brown)
  4. Happy Part Of Town (Wynn Stewart)
  5. Skid Row (Merle Haggard)
  6. Live Fast, Love Hard, Die Young (Faron Young)
  7. Playboy (Wynn Stewart)
  8. King Of Fools (Buck Owens)
  9. A Woman Like You (ORIGINAL)
  10. Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way? (Waylon Jennings)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.