ROBERT RANDOLPH & THE FAMILY BAND “Got Soul” – New Album Out 2/17

Sony Music Masterworks announces the release of Got Soul, the label debut of Robert Randolph & the Family Band. Often called the “Jimi Hendrix of the pedal steel guitar,” and named one of the 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time by Rolling Stone’s David Fricke, Randolph has, since the turn of the century, revolutionized the role of his chosen instrument. One listen to Got Soul — the fifth studio album overall by this virtuosic player and the genre-busting Family Band and first since 2013 — reaffirms that they have truly evolved into one of the most exciting, innovative outfits in contemporary music.

Got Soul, says Randolph, takes stock of his past as a church musician in New Jersey even as it pushes the band forward into new places. “The music takes me back into the roots of who I am, where I came from,” Randolph says. “It’s got an upbeat, positive church/gospel/rock/bluesy vibe to it. I’m like a rock and roll preacher on Got Soul.”

The name of the album, drawn from the title track and the song into which it segues, “She Got Soul,” is Randolph’s way of saying that we all need to reconnect with who we really are. “People like Robert Johnson and Muddy Waters, Elvis and the Stones, they were all in tune with their soul,” Randolph says. “When you’re digging deep in your soul, you can always find originality. People got soul everywhere.”

There’s certainly no shortage of originality on Got Soul. Produced by multiple Grammy nominee Matt Pierson, the 12-song set runs the gamut from the aforementioned gospel-informed numbers to deep, funky grooves to incendiary rock-and-soul jams. The hauntingly exquisite “Heaven’s Calling” features Randolph on solo steel while guest vocalists Anthony Hamilton and Darius Rucker lend their golden pipes to “She Got Soul” and “Love Do What It Do,” respectively. “I Thank You,” the ’60s Sam & Dave R&B smash, is completely reimagined in the hands of the Family Band and Snarky Puppy’s very own Cory Henry.

“We just wanted something that was very raw and sounded good,” says Randolph about Got Soul. There’s absolutely no question that they got what they wanted.

Got Soul Available Now

1. Got Soul
2. She Got Soul (feat. Anthony Hamilton)
3. Love Do What It Do (feat. Darius Rucker)
4. Shake It Off
5. I Thank You (feat. Cory Henry)
6. Be the Change
7. Heaven’s Calling
8. Find a Way
9. I Want It
10. Travelin’ Cheeba Man
11. Lovesick
12. Gonna Be Alright


9 – Boston, MA @ House of Blues
10 – Philadelphia, PA @ Fillmore
11 – Port Chester, NY @ Capitol Theatre
12 – Silver Spring, MD @ Fillmore
15 – Cincinnati, OH @ Ballroom at Taft Theatre
16 – Cleveland, OH @ Beechland Ballroom
17 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
18 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre
20 – Kansas City, MO @ Knuckleheads Saloon
22 – Fort Collins, CO @ Aggie Theatre
24 – Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre
25 – Denver, CO @ Gothic Theatre
26 – Aspen, CO @ Belly Up
28 – Las Vegas, NV @ Brooklyn Bowl
29 – Los Angeles, CA @ Roxy
30 – San Diego, CA @ House of Blues
31 – San Francisco, CA @ Fillmore

1 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater
2 – Seattle, WA @ Nectar Lounge

For more information on Robert Randolph please visit:

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.