THE DAN BAND Premieres “Making Love Out Of Nothing At All” at The A.V. Club

After being asked daily to perform at weddings all over the world, Dan Finnerty decided it was time to give back and let people spice up their receptions with The Dan Band’s The Wedding Album, set to release on July 10th via Comedy Dynamics.

The Dan Band premiered their recording of Air Supply’s “Making Love Out Of Nothing At All” (featuring Nicole Scherzinger) at The A.V. Club, who said “A schmaltzy take on an already sappy song, The Dan Band’s version of ‘Making Love Out Of Nothing At All,’ which features the aforementioned Scherzinger, really has to be heard to be believed.”

Listen to the track at The A.V. Club:

Featuring additional collaborations with Pat Monahan (Train), Rob Thomas (Matchbox 20), comedian Bridget Everett (Inside Amy Schumer), and Jeremy Ruzumna (Fitz And The Tantrums), The Wedding Album marks The Dan Band’s third full-length release, and their first release on Comedy Dynamics.

Best known for playing irreverent wedding singer in The Hangover and Old School, Finnerty and his Dan Band get countless requests from prospective brides and grooms to play their weddings. They’ve been offered everything from private jets to free beer and pizza, but can’t possibly eat that much pizza. So they came up with a solution – an album of wedding songs you can play at your nuptials that are strong enough for Dan Band fans, but subtle enough to slip by your grandma.

Appropriately named The Wedding Album, the record features covers of cherished classics done with The Dan Band’s inappropriate f-bomb flair, as well as brand new original material. Covers include a profane take on Air Supply’s “Making Love Out Of Nothing At All,” Beyonce’s “Drunk in Love,” plus a medley of R. Kelly’s “Bump N’ Grind” and Boyz II Men’s “I’ll Make Love to You.” The Wedding Album also features a new jam of 50 Cent’s “Candy Shop” (as performed by The Dan Band in The Hangover, watch HERE) and a remix of Bonnie Tyler’s “Total Eclipse of the Heart” (as performed by The Dan Band in Old School, watch HERE).

What started as a drunken joke for Finnerty singing “I Am Woman” at a karaoke bar has spiraled out of control into The Dan Band – a cult phenomenon that has garnered rave reviews from The New York Times, The L.A. Times, Rolling Stone, Variety among others, and prompted Entertainment Weekly to dub it “The hottest ticket in Hollywood.”

The Dan Band has appeared on numerous shows including The Tonight Show, Jimmy Kimmel Live, Ellen, The Late Late Show, Last Call with Carson Daly, Last Comic Standing, The Guys Choice Awards and caught the attention of Steven Spielberg, who signed on to executive produce Dan’s one hour concert special “The Dan Band: I Am Woman,” directed by McG.

The Dan Band is on tour now, playing shows in Seattle, New York, San Antonio, Houston, and Los Angeles.

The Wedding Album is out July 10th via Comedy Dynamics, pre-order at Amazon

1. Making Love Out Of Nothing At All (featuring Nicole Scherzinger) – Original Recording by Air Supply
2. Bump N’ Grind/I’ll Make Love To You – Original Recording by R. Kelly/Boyz II Men
3. Do It 2Night – Written by Dan Finnerty & Jeremy Ruzumna
4. Three Way – Written by Dan Finnerty & Rob Thomas
5. Irreplaceable – Original Recording by Beyonce
6. I Can’t Believe I Love You (featuring Train) – Written by Dan Finnerty, Jerry Becker and Pat Monahan
7. Drunk In Love – Original Recording by Beyonce
8. Candy Shop – Original Recording by 50 Cent
9. Making Love Forever (featuring Bridget Everett) – Written by Dan Finnerty, Matt Beck and Bridget Everett)
10. Total Remix Of The Heart – Original Recording by Bonnie Tyler


26 – Seattle, WA @ Parlor Live
27 – Seattle, WA @ Parlor Live

11 – New York, NY @ Joe’s Pub
17 – San Antonio, TX @ Aztec Theatre
18 – Houston , TX @ House of Blues
25 – Agoura Hills, CA @ Canyon Club | |

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.